Who Won Indian Law and Policy 2014? First Round Bracket — 6 of 8

Second part of the third category, people and parties.

# 2 Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Everyone’s favorite Supreme Court Justice. Wrote scholarly and compelling concurrence in the Bay Mills matter. Wrote amazing dissent in the affirmative action case.


# 15 McAllen Grace Brethren Church

Won Fifth Circuit case, along with Lipan Apache members, which held that the Eagle Act regs might violate RFRA.

# 7 Hon. William Canby

Just published the sixth edition of his legendary Nutshell. He’s legendary too.


# 10 Frank Pommersheim

Professor, lawyer, tribal judge, poet. Posted all of his tribal court opinions online, an absolutely incredible resource. Still stirring things up in South Dakota.

# 3 Hon. Keith Harper

Confirmed as Ambassador to the United Nations Human Rights Council. Went right after violence against Indigenous women and girls.


# 14 Chris Deschene

An amazing year, so far unsuccessfully challenging the Diné language requirement to run for tribal office at Navajo.

# 6 Robert A. Williams, Jr.

Probably should get his own category that we could parse out through the years, but this year was on Moyers. Force of nature.

# 11 Dean Stacy Leeds and Prof. Angelique EagleWoman

Yeah, time passes quicker than I thought. Turns out their great book, “Mastering American Indian Law,” was a 2013 masterpiece. Ok.

The real # 11 — Authors of “Structuring Sovereignty”

My favorite book of 2014, Structuring Sovereignty is a wonderful scholarly survey of modern tribal constitutions. Melissa Tatum, Miriam Jorgensen, Mary Guss, and Sarah Deer (a second appearance in the game).

Update on 2013 National NALSA Moot Court Competition

NNALSA Moot Court Competition

The 37th Annual National Native American Law Students Association (NNALSA) Moot Court Competition is being hosted by the Lewis & Clark Law School in Portland, Oregon on February 22-23, 2013. Organized by the law school’s local NALSA chapter, this event will bring students from more than 28 schools to compete during a three-day tournament.

The NNALSA Moot Court Competition encourages the development of oral advocacy and brief writing skills and enhances substantive knowledge in the fields of Federal Indian Law, Tribal Law, and traditional forms of governance. The annual event requires competing law students, in two-person teams, to conduct research and write legal briefs, without assistance from professors or others, and argue against other student teams at the competition.

Judges for this event include Judge Diane Wood, United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Judge William C. Canby, Jr., United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; and Dean Stacy L. Leeds, Dean and Professor of Law at the University of Arkansas School of Law and the first Native American women to lead a U.S. law school.

Check back for updates and register for the competition at Lewis & Clark’s NNALSA Moot Court website. If you have any questions, you can contact Jessie Young at jessieyoung@lclark.edu.