OJS TJS to host virtual Part 3 of VAWA Roundtable Discussion Series, March 8

VAWA Roundtable Discussion: Sentencing and the Value of a Pre-Sentence Report in Tribal Courts

March 8, 2023

on Zoom Webinar

11-4pm ET | 10 -3pm CT | 9-2pm MT | 8-1pm PT | 7-12pm AKT

Visit www.vawaroundtable.com to register at no cost and view all information as it becomes available.

OJS TJS to host virtual Part 2 of VAWA Roundtable Discussion Series, Sept 28

VAWA Roundtable Discussion: Shared Tribal Experiences Under VAWA ’13

September 28, 2022

on Zoom Webinar

11-5pm ET | 10 -4pm CT | 9-3pm MT | 8-2pm PT | 7-1pm AKT

Visit www.vawaroundtable.com to register at no cost and view all information as it becomes available

OJS TJS Virtual VAWA Roundtable Discussion, June 29, 2022

Violence Against Women Act Round Table Discussion

Lessons Learned: Implementing VAWA ’22 Based on VAWA ’13

Hosted on Zoom, June 29, 2022, 11-5:30pm

Visit www.vawaroundtable.com for more information and to register for the tuition free event

Bay Mills to host 4th Annual Noojimo’iwewin: The VAWA & ICWA Training


The 2022 Noojimo’iwewin features a series of hands-on training units. Each unit focuses on a topic related to violence and provides tools to support community healing. Engaging, expert faculty facilitate each unit which has been designed to help advocates, providers, and legal professionals implement effective service strategies. The training is hosted both in-person at the Bay Mills Resort & Casino and virtually via Whova. CLE and Social CEU credits pending.

Bay Mills to Host Third Annual VAWA and ICWA Training

Bay Mills Indian Community

3rd annual Noojimo’iwewin: A VAWA and ICWA Training

Aug. 4-6, in-person and online 

Imange: In 2019, attendees gathered for the training at the Bay Mills Resort & Casino. While 2020 brought us a year of online trainings, this year, the event will be hosted as a hybrid. Attendees can join in-person or online.

BRIMLEY, Mich. — Picking up where last year’s training left off, Bay Mills Indian Community sets out to host its third annual Noojimo’iwewin: A VAWA and ICWA Training, Aug. 4-6. The event is hosted both in-person at the Bay Mills Horizon Center and online via Zoom. Once again, this timely training focuses on issues of child welfare, domestic violence, and community healing. Registration is free and still open!

Those who will attend in-person must book their room by at the Bay Mills Resort & Casino by Tuesday, July 27 using the training room block information. If you have any questions, please contact Neoshia Roemer at neoshia@whitenergroup.biz. This training is made possible by the Office of Tribal Justice’s TJS funding and organized by The Whitener Group.

This course is approved for 9.25 (including 1.25 Elimination of Bias) Minnesota Continuing Legal Education credits and this course is approved by the NASW-Michigan Social Work Continuing Education Collaborative for 9 credits.

Full press release here.

Bay Mills Indian Community Hosts Second Annual Noojimo’iwewin: A VAWA and ICWA Training

Bay Mills Indian Community is hosting its second annual Noojimo’iwewin: A VAWA and ICWA Training on August 5-7, 2020. Once again, the training will focus on issues of child welfare, domestic violence, and community healing. This year, the event is completely virtual. For more details, please see the press release or event website.

Press Release: July 29, 2020

Event website

Bay Mills Indian Community and OJS Present Virtual VAWA and ICWA Training: August 5-7, 2020

_Noonjimo’iwewin_ A VAWA and ICWA Training

The Bay Mills Indian Community (Gnoozhekaaning) will host Noojimo’iwewin: A Virtual VAWA and ICWA Training, August 5-7, 2020. Streamed digitally via Zoom, the conference invites law enforcement officials, attorneys, and social work advocates from all communities to look forward from domestic violence. This training is tuition free. Register here.

Press release, Noojimo’iwewin: VAWA and ICWA Training 2020

PDF save the date, Noojimo’iwewin: VAWA and ICWA Training