Register Now for the 2019 ILPC/TICA Annual Conference!

It’s coming up quickly!

Hosted by the Tribal In-House Counsel Association and the Indigenous Law and Policy Center at Michigan State University College of Law

October 10-11, 2019, with pre-conference activities on October 9, 2019

648 N. Shaw Lane, East Lansing MI 48824

Check out the tentative agenda and register today.

12.5 Minnesota CLE credits are pending, which includes 1 elimination of bias credit and 1.5 ethics credits.

Be a TICA/ILPC Sponsor! You can find the sponsorship form here.

Last year, our generous sponsors helped us successfully meet our fundraising goal for the 2018 Indigenous Law Conference! We hope to do the same this year, but we need your help once again. Visit TICA’s 2019 fundraising goal page, which will be regularly updated, for more information.



ILPC Graduate Accepts Judicial Clerkship

Congratulations to Lydia Locklear (Lumbee), a 2017 graduate of Michigan State University College of Law and recipient of the Indigenous Law Certificate. Lydia recently accepted a judicial clerkship position with the Honorable Anita Earls. Justice Earls was elected to the North Carolina Supreme Court and has an extensive background in civil rights and social justice work. Congratulations Lydia!

Dobson Cooper Scholarship - Lydia Locklear - 2

Photo: Lydia Locklear, ’17


ILPC alumni, please connect with us ( and share your important news! We would love to hear from you.

Register Today for the TICA/ILPC Conference!

Register and attend the only conference dedicated to issues facing in-house tribal counsel! October 26-27

Details and registration here.

Speakers include:

Paul Spruhan, Navajo Nation Dept. of Justice

Jean Back, Schwabe, Williamson, & Wyatt

Jessica Intermill, Hogen Adams

Lloyd B. Miller, Sonosky Chambers LLP

Phil H. Tinker, Kanji & Katzen

Venus McGhee Prince, Kilpatrick Townsend LLP

Lori Madison Stinson, Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Brian Pierson, Godfrey & Kahn David Smith, Kilpatrick Townsend LLP

Mark Reeves, Kilpatrick Townsend LLP

Brad Stinson, Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Breann Nu‘uhiwa, Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians

Pilar Thomas, Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie LLP

Maya Kane, Kane Law LLC

Katherine Belzowski, Navajo Nation

Jack Trope, Casey Family Programs

Kandis Martine, Navajo Nation Dept. of Justice

Kathryn E. Fort, MSU Indigenous Law & Policy Center

Dan Rey-Bear, Rey-Bear McLaughlin LLP P

rofessor Monte Mills, University of Montana Law

Mary J. Pavel, Sonosky Chambers LLP

Jessica Intermill, Hogen Adams

Peter Ortego, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

Lenor Scheffler Blaeser, Lower Sioux Indian Community

Sharon Avery, Saginaw Chippewa Tribe