NNALSA Moot Court Competition Updates!

Kacey Chopito (Pueblo of Zuni) and Cassondra Church (Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians) competed and advanced to the Final Four round in the 29th Annual National NALSA Moot Court Competition at the University of North Dakota School of Law on February 26-27, 2021. Photo credit: Cassondra Church.

This weekend, three MSU LAW teams competed in the National NALSA Moot Court Competition at the University of North Dakota School of Law. While we are proud of all three of our teams, we are especially pleased to announce that 3Ls Kacey Chopito and Cassondra Church (pictured above) advanced to the Final Four round of this year’s competition, winning both a Semi-Finalist Award and 2nd Place for Best Written Advocates!

We are very proud of all three of our teams (pictured below), who were coached by Linus Banghart-Linn and Neoshia R. Roemer! Please join us in congratulating them on their hard work!

From left to right: Cassondra Church, 2L Val Schuette (Pascua Yaqui Tribe), 3L Sapphire Long Knife (Fort Belknap Indian Community), 2L Breanna Colwell (Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe), Coach Linus Banghart-Linn, Coach Neoshia R. Roemer, 3L Redon Ipeku, and Kacey Chopito. Photo credit: Breanna Colwell.

Final Results in 2011 NNALSA Moot Court Competition @ Columbia

Best Advocate (team)
First Place – Keani Alapa & H. Maxwell Kopper – University of Hawaii
Second Place – Briana Coyle & Andy Murphy – University of Washington
Third Place – Jenny Patten & Jason Hipp – Columbia Law School

Best Oralist (individual)
First Place – Amy Conners – Columbia Law School
Second Place – Ayman Mourad – Lewis & Clark Law School
Third Place (tied) – Sherri Mitchell, University of Arizona & Elika Stimpson, University of Hawaii

Best Brief
First Place – Jacqueline de Armas & Maureen Keffer – Stanford Law School
Second Place – Beth Baldwin & Anne Mariah Tapp – University of Colorado
Third Place – Libby Moulton & Inbar Gal – Columbia Law School


National NALSA Moot Court Competition Problem

The National Native American Law Students Association released the 2008 moot court competition problem. You can download it here: 2008 Problem. You can download the rules here: 2008 Rules.

Arizona and Arizona State are the hosts this year.