Grand Traverse Band Response to House Resources Committee Memo of May 22, 2017

Here are the materials:

06-06-17 Ltrs to Hon. Raul Labrador and Donald McEachin

County Commissioner-Ty Wessell Letter of Support

ARTICLE – Rep. Rob Bishop Angers House Colleagues Over His Handling of I…

House Resources PR Staff Response to “New Scholarship Arguing ‘Presidents Lack the Authority to Abolish or Diminish National Monuments’”

Here (original post here):

I was just reading your blog “New Scholarship Arguing, ‘Presidents Lack the Authority to Abolish or Diminish National Monuments.’” Just wanted to send some additional info. Let me know if you have any questions!

Amending Proclamations:

  • This legal paper asserts that the President has the authority to revoke or reduce national monument designations
  • This is a great op-ed for more background: Trump Can Reverse Obama’s Last-Minute Land Grab
  • Presidents – both Republican and Democratic – have significantly reduced the size of monuments. Taft reduced one of his own designations by 95%.
    • Taft, Petrified Forest, Arizona, 25,625 acres
    • Roosevelt, Grand Canyon II, Arizona, 71,854 acres
    • Kennedy, Natural Bridges, Utah, 320 acres
    • Taft, Mount Olympus, Washington, 160 acres
    • Wilson, Mount Olympus, Washington, 313,280 acres
    • Coolidge, Mount Olympus, Washington, 640 acres
    • Taft, Navajo, Arizona, 320 acres
    • Eisenhower, Colorado, Colorado, 211 acres
    • Kennedy, Bandelier, New Mexico, 3,925 acres
    • Eisenhower, Hovenweep, Utah/Colorado, 40 acres
    • Roosevelt, Craters of the Moon, Idaho, R.O.W.
    • Roosevelt, Wupatki, Arizona, 52 acres
    • Eisenhower, Glacier Bay, Alaska, 4,193 acres (water)
    • Eisenhower, Arches, Utah, 720 acres
    • Eisenhower, Great Sand Dunes, Colorado, 9,880 acres
    • Roosevelt, White Sands, New Mexico, R.O.W.
    • Eisenhower, Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Colorado, 470 acres
    • Truman, Santa Rosa Island, Florida, 4,700 acres
  • As you can see, there’s precedent for both large diminishments (largest is 313,280 acres) and diminishments specifically in the state of Utah (3 total). The courts have generally upheld very broad discretion for the President to determine what is the “smallest area compatible” to manage the Monument – meaning they can also diminish if they believe the area originally created is not the smallest area necessary to protect the resource.

Don’t hesitate to reach out moving forward. (and Go Blue!)

Molly Block

Press Secretary

House Committee on Natural Resources


Energy Tribes Testify against Federal Oversight in House Resources Committee Hearing

Here is the witness list with links to testimony (and a link to the hearing itself):

The Honorable James M. “Mike” Olguin
Tribal Council Member
Southern Ute Indian Tribe
Ignacio, CO
(Disclosure Form)

The Honorable Jack Ferguson
Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
Representative, Intertribal Timber Council
Nespelem, WA
(Disclosure Form)

Mr. Richard Glenn
Executive Vice President, Lands & Natural Resources
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation
Barrow, AK
(Disclosure Form)

Mr. Louis Denetsosie
President & CEO
Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Co.
Window Rock, AZ
(Disclosure Form)

Mr. Eric Henson
Senior Vice President, Compass Lexecon
Research Affiliate, Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
Tuscon, AZ
(Disclosure Form)

House Resources Committee Hearing on Per Capita Act and Federal Treatment of Trust Per Capita Distributions



The Honorable Don Young

The Honorable Doc Hastings
Full Committee Chairman


Panel I

Christy J. Jacobs
Director, Office of Indian Tribal Governments
Internal Revenue Service
U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Athena Sanchey Yallup
Executive Secretary
The Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation

The Honorable Ron Suppah
Tribal Council of the Confederated Tribes of the
Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon

The Honorable John E. Sirois
The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

Witnesses and Testimony in House Resources Committee Hearing on Federal Recognition

Here (from June 27):


The Honorable Don Young


Panel I

The Honorable Ken Salazar*
U.S. Department of the Interior

Stephen R. Adkins
Chickahominy Tribe

Scott Gabaldon
Tribal Chair
Mishewal Wappo Tribe of Alexander Valley

Ann Tucker
Muscogee Nation

Framon Weaver
MOWA Band of Choctaw Indians

The Honorable Diane Dillon
Napa County District 3

Testimony in House Resources Committee Hearing on Tribal Empowerment Act (This is about Alaskan oil, right?)


Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs Legislative Hearing on H.R. 3973          Wednesday, February 15, 2012 2:00 PM

SUBCOMMITTEE ON INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE AFFAIRS 1324 Longworth House Office Building Wednesday, February 15, 2012 2:00 p.m.


  • H.R. 3973 (Young-AK), To facilitate the development of energy on Indian lands by reducing Federal regulations that impede tribal development of Indian lands, and for other purposes.


The Honorable Paul GosarActing Committee Chairman